Skip to main content

Table 1 Tortuosity curve measurement point

From: Validation of an arterial tortuosity measure with application to hypertension collection of clinical hypertensive patients

Artery Start End Measurement
Left ACA Left ICA/ACA bifurcation Acom End to end
Right ACA Right ICA/ACA bifurcation Acom End to end
Left ACA - Acom - Right ACA Left ICA/ACA bifurcation Right ICA/ACA bifurcation End to end
Basilar Posterior cerebrals Vertebral arteries End to end
Left ICA and Right ICA ACA/MCA bifurcation Bottom of slab Peak
Left and Right VA Basilar artery Bottom of slab Peak
LSA (7 T images) MCA Visible end Peak and end-end
  1. The measurement for each artery is taken from different points on the tortuosity curve of the anterior cerebral artery (ACA), internal carotid artery (ICA), anterior communicating (Acom), vertebral artery (VA), basilar arteries and lenticulostriate artery (LSA). Middle cerebral artery (MCA) bifurcations are used a starting points for some measurements.